shape
carat
color
clarity

Help with 2.15 ct from BN

Nicfit

Rough_Rock
Hello!

I’m hoping to get your expert help in selecting “the one”. PS has been an invaluable resource, albeit a tad overwhelming! I’m a relative novice when it comes to diamonds, and have searched high and low for an engagement ring stone primarily on BN, JA, GOG, Brilliant Earth, Brian Gavin etc. I think I zeroed in on one that might fit the bill in terms of quality and price point. I ran the numbers on HCA, and it scored 1.9. I would love some additional insight into this stone as I want to be as well informed as possible before this big purchase. The link to the stone is below:

https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-de...AMONDS&track=viewDiamondDetails&action=newTab

Thanks so much! :)

Snowdrop13

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Looks like it’s sold now??

I’d say it’s cut too deep, I’m afraid and the angles aren’t great, stick to the following numbers on a GIA XXX stone:

table: 54-58
depth: 60-62.3
crown angle: 34-35.0
pavilion angle: 40.6-40.9 (sometimes 41.0)

mrs-b

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
That's an ok stone, but not great. It's way too deep, you're losing spread, the pattern isn't well defined, the crown angle is too high. It would never get graded Ideal by AGS, for example.

But if you have an extra 1k to spend, here's a GREAT stone. It's bigger, cleaner (this one is a VS1), it has better stats so will reflect light better. It's HCA is 1.3 (which is a great place to be), and its arrows are much more cleanly defined. It has strong blue fluorescence, so it will probably look a little whiter. It's a better stone right across the board.

You'll make your own decisions, of course, but I'd get on this:

https://www.bluenile.com/diamond-de...AMONDS&track=viewDiamondDetails&action=newTab

crbl999

Brilliant_Rock
I agree that it is cut too deep. Stick to the numbers above. If you share what specs you're looking for and your budget we can help find a stone.

Nicfit

Rough_Rock