shape
carat
color
clarity

Eternity rings: types of settings?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

musey

Super_Ideal_Rock
This is my first time venturing into rockytalky. Be gentle
2.gif

I've been shopping around for eternity rings, and I've found that I have two questions (one of them's a two-parter).

1. Is there an informational site somewhere that lists all the different types of settings (shared-prong, U, bead-set, channel, and all the other bunches that I don't know about)? Secondly, what, in your opinion (if you have it) is the most comfortable setting type for an eternity ring? My problem is that while I love the look, I much prefer the feel of smooth, plain bands.

2. If I have a 1.8mm e-ring, and want an eternity band no wider than 2mm to wear with it... what are my options/limitations for settings (ie are there setting types that can't be used effectively for smaller than XXX carat weight)?

Thank you for any advice you can dole out!!

P.S. Should I have put this in "jewelry pieces," instead? If so, admin, please feel free to move it and sorry about that!

Diamond*Dana

Ideal_Rock
Premium
If you love the smoothness of a plain band, I would recommend channel set then. I have a channel set eternity that is a half carat total weight. Mine is 2 mm thick:

121222155.jpg

Diamond*Dana

Ideal_Rock
Premium
I wanted to add that mine is very comfortable, I don''t even know that it is there. I really do like the channel set eternity bands because I just feel that the stones are more protected from being banged around. For visualization purpose, my three stone is 1.05 CTW ( .51 center with .27 on each side).

surfgirl

Ideal_Rock