shape
carat
color
clarity

2'ish ct Oval diamond hunt for a Tacori setting

bunfuns

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

I’m pretty new to diamond research. Most of my limited knowledge is for RB. But after a recent trip to the jeweler, I find that oval looks better on my hand (short fingers and all). I think I will be going with either the Tacori Classic Crescent style 2550 or Dantela style 2620. I think 2550 match my wedding band a little bit better. Please see picture below.

Tacori Classic Crescent 2550 2ct oval center stone

Tacori Dantela 2620 1.5 ct oval center stone

Now I am on a mission to hunt down an oval loose diamond that’s about 2’ish ct. I want to find something by mid-May (2 months time) since that’s the time that I’ll be buying my Tacori setting) I want to spend around $15k for the stone, but could go up a little if there’s a really nice stone. I think here are the bottom line criteria that I wanted:

Carat: 2’ish if price permits
Color: at least G since the paves of the Tacori are color G (wanted to shoot for F since color is more important in oval than in RB)
Clarity: this is the most confusing. Jeweler told me that I could go down to SI1 as long as it’s eyeclean. How do I know what’s eyeclean? Since I’m going with a halo ring, there might also be blemishes that is ok since the sides are wrapped around by the halo (or the prongs too)? And there are certain types of blemishes that are okay, and certain are not, right?
Cut: doesn’t apply to oval diamond, right?
Polish: shooting for Excellent
Symmetry: shooting for Excellent
Measurement: I already forgot what the jeweler tell me to find
L/W Ratio: per the jeweler, 1.34 to 1.38
Table %: upper 50’s, like 58 or 59
Depth %: not sure what’s best
Fluorescence: not sure what’s best
Girdle: not sure what’s best
Bow-tie: how much is consider little or a lot?