shape
carat
color
clarity

26k budget - Help needed with diamond recommendations

miko0308

Rough_Rock
Hi Everyone! I am new to PS and there is soooo much information on here that I am quite overwhelmed, literally my anxiety is through the roof! After 10 years of dating, my boyfriend and I are ready to buy a ring :clap:. My boyfriend shared his budget with me and has left it up to me to pick the diamond I want. I initially thought that I could get away with just learning about the 4 C's and that it would be enough but boy was I wrong. Just from my research the last couple of days on this website, I have learned that "Cut is King". What I don't quite understand yet is how to analyze a diamond cut and what specs I should be looking for. I also read that depending on the cut and color a smaller diamond can appear bigger. What should I be looking for if I want to consider this option? What is the difference between fire, sparkle, and brilliance?

I am hoping that you guys can give me guidance on what criteria (measurements, depth, table, crown angle, pavilion angle, crown %, girdle, symmetry, polish, crown, pavilion - am i missing anything?) I should be using to find my diamond of preference. I am not familiar with how to read and look at images for ASET Scope and Idea Scope (it's super confusing and intimidating:doh:). Any recommendations on diamonds I should consider would be greatly appreciated! Here is what I am looking for:

• Budget: $26k
  • Shape: Round Brilliant
  • Carat Weight: 2 cts ++ ( Ideally ~2.2)
  • Clarity: VVS2 - VS1
  • Color: E-F (should I consider G?)
  • Cut: Excellent - Very Good
  • fluorescence: What should I aim for?
  • HCA: I read that I should find one with a range between 1.0 - 2.0
  • Lab: GIA,AGS (Is one better than the other?)