shape
carat
color
clarity

Assistance with CAD for Sapphire E-Ring

vadenstar

Rough_Rock
I received the CAD for my sapphire e ring yesterday, and I am looking for some input. I have no experience working with CAD ever before.

My mother gave me my great grandmothers old platinum diner rings to use for my engagement ring. So I wanted to be able to use the platinum and diamonds from the old rings in my new ring! A friend at work who has a ton of jewelry, recommended a guy to me who does custom jewelry and I have been working with him to build/design me a ring! I was really looking for some design and general assistance with the CAD because honestly I am not sure what is good or bad. Also I really wanted to incorporate the baguette diamonds in the one old ring, so if anyone has any good ideas about what to do with them in the ring other than what we have done already that would be great!

ggs_rings.png cad_1_0.jpg cad_2_0.jpg cad_3_0.jpg cad_4_0.jpg

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Wow, the baguettes fit so well together in that ring (love that ring by the way). Whatever the jeweler does, the baguettes may not align as perfectly as they do in your grandmother's ring, so be careful. Honestly, I would leave the ring as it is, it's GORGEOUS, and find a stone to set in there. It has sentimental value too. JMO.

The baguettes are not straight cuts, and have a trapezoid shape to them, so it's not like you can just line them up.

vadenstar

Rough_Rock
Thanks TL! Several jewelers have looked at that ring and said how very nice it was. Wish I had the 2 carat diamond that was in the center!

The ring has already been taken apart and all the diamonds have been measured to see what we could use and what I would keep and what would have to be added because they are all very different. :cry: , and we are actually re using that platinum.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
The CAD is very pretty but are the measurements true to what you have?
How many rounds? Mm sizes?