shape
carat
color
clarity

1ct Emerald Cut Solitaire Ering Setting Ideas?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Lestat

Shiny_Rock
Hey Everyone
9.gif

At the moment I''m looking at a few emerald cut diamonds, hopefully I''ll end up with something close to or just over 1 carat.

I''ve looked at a few settings on the net and so far my GF and I like this one so far: { Link }

Although the more I look around the more I start to doubt... Can we do better? The more I read the more I start to be concerned about the care of Mokume over time, it seems a bit high-maintenance. My GF is a beauty/massage therapist by trade, so I''m a bit concerned about chemicals reacting with the metals as well. Also, it would be nice to be showing off a bit more diamond I think? I thought I''d ask the style experts here and hopefully find some nice settings I can show my GF as other options!

Things I''m looking for:

- Emerald cut solitaire setting

- Modern, a bit different or unique in some way compared to the classic engagement ring style, hence Mokume became an option, we''re open to ideas though, but I''m not saying we''re going to change my mind
1.gif

- I was going to have the ring made with a european shank, as she has mentioned to me that all of her rings in the past have annoyed her due to spinning around.

- We like Palladium or Platinum, her skin is tanned, olive skin, so we reckon white metals look really good on her. I''ve given her silver jewellery in the past and it tarnishes relatively fast on her skin. I like the fact that no plating is needed with Platinum and Palladium.

- She''s Japanese, her finger size is 3 3/4 US, she has fairly small, delicate hands. She doesn''t like big chunky jewellery. We were thinking maybe 3mm or 4mm wide band at the most. I''m thinking 3mm will make the stone look bigger
2.gif