shape
carat
color
clarity

IUD TMI?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Upgradable

Ideal_Rock
I was just fitted with a Mirena IUD yesterday and wanted to ask a few questions for those of you who also have an IUD. I read all the old threads here, along with mucho additional research, but as we Pricescoper''s know, nothing beats the personal opinion of those actually involved!

I''m 47 yrs old, non-smoker, slightly overweight, have fibromyalgia but no other health problems. Hubby and I have been using condoms for the last four years or so because I was concerned the hormones in the birth contol pills I was using was causing difficulty with my fibromyalgia symptoms. Well, we had a near miss with condom in December and realized we''re too old to panic like that again! For a number of irrational reasons hubby is not enthused about a vasectomy and I don''t want a tubal (my body tends to over-react to physical stressors), so the Mirena seemed a good fit for a long term hormone lite method of BC.

Insertion wasn''t horrible. I''m on my period like suggested, and there were just a couple of pinchy crampy parts, but I''ve had two children...... breastfeeding is waaaaaay more painful! Still bleeding and crampy today, but not bad or unusual.

I''m wondering what to expect in the next month, three months, six months down the line? How long did you bleed? Are there "pokey" feelings in your uterus during intercourse? Any other side effects? I''d appreciate any input at all. The regular birth control forums are either filled with horror stories or are all populated with college age girls. What about we old birds who still have a little life left in us??

Miscka

Brilliant_Rock
Hi UG! I am about 1.5 months in to my Mirena.