shape
carat
color
clarity

1 year, $25k, go!

justginger

Ideal_Rock
You've won $25k on a scratchie. You've convinced your boss to let you have a year off work. :bigsmile:

What would you do? Where would you go? What would you NOT do and where would you NOT go? Why?

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I wouldn't take off work at all. After taxes, all I'll have left is around $15K, which isn't that huge a sum of money. I have no debt so there's nothing to pay off. Instead, I'll just save it, invest some, maybe splurge a little but life goes on as usual. Yes, I'm very boring. :lol:

Cozystitches

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
I probably won't take a year off either, however I would take a loooong vacation. I'm a teacher so my summer break would be my long break. I'd probably pay off some debt as well, and buy sparklies of course. :Up_to_something:

movie zombie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Chrono|1366808460|3433581 said:
I wouldn't take off work at all. After taxes, all I'll have left is around $15K, which isn't that huge a sum of money. I have no debt so there's nothing to pay off. Instead, I'll just save it, invest some, maybe splurge a little but life goes on as usual. Yes, I'm very boring. :lol:

+1.
given we're paying this place off by March, 2014 [30 yr mortgage paid off in 10 yrs], i'd throw any $ after taxes at that.
if I had not already purchased a home, i'd save the after tax $ towards a down payment.

way to practical, I know.

justginger

Ideal_Rock
Chrono|1366808460|3433581 said:

Oh yes, I forgot about the American taxes on lottery winnings. In Australia, what you win is what you get. So you really do have $25k in my imagined scenario - would that change what you do with it?

Kelinas

Shiny_Rock
Tahiti, over water bungalow. :love: :love:
/sigh

Then hop over to Australia & New Zealand to see friends before going back to boring Florida :D

Kelinas

Shiny_Rock