![]() |
![]() ![]() |
|
| Diamond Jewelry Forums
|
|||
|
| |
||
» Diamond Prices and Grading »
» RockyTalky
» |
|
![]() |
Selling setting - received weird email |
![]() |
| P: 5/10/2007 8:38:51 AM | |
The_Running_Realtor Rough Rock Total Posts: 27 Last Post: 6/23/2007 Member Since: 5/7/2007 |
I am selling my Martin Flyer setting and have it on craigslist. I received an email from this gentleman that wants to purchase it via Gearpay.com -some sort of escrow account. It just sounds weird as he is not asking any questions at all just wants to pay for it. I tried to do some research on Gearpay and it seems legit but the whole thing sounds fishy. What do you guys think?
|
| Posted: 5/10/2007 8:38:51 AM | |
![]() |
There are 10 replies to this message. There are 10 replies on this page. |
![]() |
| P: 5/10/2007 8:40:07 AM | |
|
Lorelei Ideal Rock Total Posts: 34,212 Last Post: 11/22/2009 Member Since: 4/30/2005 |
I would be cautious as you would be in any case.
![]() Nothing is more sacred as the bond between horse and rider...no other creature can ever become so emotionally close to a human as a horse. When a horse dies, the memory lives on because an enormous part of his owner's heart, soul, very existence dies also...but that can never be laid to rest, it is not meant to be... - Stephanie M Thorn |
| Posted: 5/10/2007 8:40:07 AM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 8:48:42 AM | |
|
Mokey Cut Rock Total Posts: 371 Last Post: 1/21/2008 Member Since: 1/20/2006 |
The Craigslist site warns about these kinds of things and to disregard them because they are fraudulent. They have several examples of it on the site.
|
| Posted: 5/10/2007 8:48:42 AM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 9:00:31 AM | |
|
denverappraiser Ideal Rock Total Posts: 4,614 Last Post: 11/22/2009 Member Since: 7/21/2004 |
Don’t do it. There’s nothing offered there to either the buyer or seller that isn’t available through Paypal. This begs the question why they are insisting on it. No real customer EVER buys a diamond ring without asking questions first. Neil Beaty GG(GIA) ICGA(AGS) NAJA Professional Appraisals in Denver There's never a crowd when you go that extra mile. |
| Posted: 5/10/2007 9:00:31 AM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 9:07:50 AM | |
|
mercoledi Ideal Rock Total Posts: 2,667 Last Post: 10/5/2009 Member Since: 6/20/2006 |
It's most likely a scam. Think about it from a buyer's perspective, if you were interested in a setting on Craigslist, wouldn't you ask at least a few questions and want to see it in person before buying? Expect more. Any high priced item on CL gets TONS of this type of spam. Take cash or paypal and make sure you're comfortable with the buyer.
|
| Posted: 5/10/2007 9:07:50 AM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 2:15:50 PM | |
|
kcoursolle Ideal Rock Total Posts: 10,344 Last Post: 10/14/2009 Member Since: 1/21/2006 |
Don't do it!!!
|
| Posted: 5/10/2007 2:15:50 PM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 2:25:17 PM | |
|
decodelighted Ideal Rock Total Posts: 8,625 Last Post: 11/16/2009 Member Since: 7/27/2005 |
Yeah .. no way. We got some weird offers like this when DH was listing a Jeep for sale. Some from foreign countries -- full asking price -- HELLO! No *way* that's legit. Running Realtor, your spidey-senses are operating just fine. Listen to 'em.
|
| Posted: 5/10/2007 2:25:17 PM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 2:29:07 PM | |
The_Running_Realtor Rough Rock Total Posts: 27 Last Post: 6/23/2007 Member Since: 5/7/2007 |
I emailed him back telling him to wire the money or paypal, no exceptions. He even offered an extra $100 for my troubles in an earlier email. Hmmmmmm. I doubt I will hear back from him. RR |
| Posted: 5/10/2007 2:29:07 PM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 3:12:34 PM | |
|
kcoursolle Ideal Rock Total Posts: 10,344 Last Post: 10/14/2009 Member Since: 1/21/2006 |
Date: 5/10/2007 2:29:07 PM Author: The_Running_Realtor I emailed him back telling him to wire the money or paypal, no exceptions. He even offered an extra $100 for my troubles in an earlier email. Hmmmmmm. I doubt I will hear back from him. RR I wouldn't work with someone like this period! I really would encourage you to check out reputable sellers such as whiteflash, goodoldgold.com, and jamesallen.com. This is a large purchase, you really don't want to be taking chances. Instead, you want the most beautiful diamond your money can buy!
|
| Posted: 5/10/2007 3:12:34 PM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 3:14:55 PM | |
|
Kaleigh Ideal Rock Total Posts: 25,905 Last Post: 11/23/2009 Member Since: 11/18/2004 |
Yup don't do it. Also contact Pearlman's.
____________________________ |
| Posted: 5/10/2007 3:14:55 PM | |
| P: 5/10/2007 3:17:44 PM | |
|
mrssalvo Ideal Rock Total Posts: 16,856 Last Post: 11/20/2009 Member Since: 1/3/2005 |
Date: 5/10/2007 3:14:55 PM Author: Kaleigh Yup don't do it. Also contact Pearlman's. ditto. I consigned 2 rings though Pearlman's and it was much easier to not have to worry about any of that stuff. |
| Posted: 5/10/2007 3:17:44 PM | |
|
|
Next Page |
Contact Us | Back Home | Privacy Statement | Forum Agreement | Forum Policies | |
| Ideal BB Version: 0.1.5.4.beta1 | Message forum software powered by the Ideal BB |
Pricescope -
Knowledge -
Diamond Prices -
Tools -
Resources -
About
© 2000-2009 Pricescope. Terms of Use Privacy Policy Disclaimer
forum archives