![]() |
![]() ![]() ![]() |
|
| Diamond Jewelry Forums
|
|||
|
| |
||
» Pricescope café »
» Hangout
» |
|
![]() |
PHISHING SCAM claiming to be from CHASE BANK |
![]() |
| P: 2/9/2006 9:57:53 AM | |
|
Dee Jay Cut Rock Total Posts: 240 Last Post: 3/7/2006 Member Since: 12/19/2005 |
If you bank at Chase (formerly Bank One and several others that have been "absorbed" over the years) and receive an e-mail like this DO NOT RESPOND to it. It is a SCAM and they will use your personal info to access your accounts. Your bank would NEVER send you a message like this. Thank you for submitting the requested information about your account. We have compared the information that you have supplied and the ATM Pin number is not the same as the one in our records. To ensure that your account is not compromised please login to Chase Internet Banking by clicking this link, verify your identity, your account information and supply a valid ATM Pin number in order to get your acount reactivated by our system.
If at any time you require assistance, please contact our Online Account Services customer hotline at 1-800-788-7000 24 hours a day, 7 days a week. Thank you for using Chase Online Account Services. Sincerely, |
| Posted: 2/9/2006 9:57:53 AM | |
![]() |
There are 14 replies to this message. There are 14 replies on this page. |
![]() |
| P: 2/9/2006 10:26:30 AM | |
|
belle Ideal Rock Total Posts: 10,287 Last Post: 4/3/2008 Member Since: 11/19/2004 |
report to the ftc: http://www.consumer.gov/idtheft/ the fbi's internet crime complaint center: http://www.ic3.gov/
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 10:26:30 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 10:46:03 AM | |
|
Dee Jay Cut Rock Total Posts: 240 Last Post: 3/7/2006 Member Since: 12/19/2005 |
Bell - thanks so much for the info!
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 10:46:03 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:10:22 AM | |
|
GemKlctr Cut Rock Total Posts: 451 Last Post: 7/26/2006 Member Since: 8/7/2005 |
Good catch. Never click on a link when intending to enter sensitive financial or personal info. ALWAYS open up a new window and type in your known URL for the site you want to reach. Asking you to click on a link as in the Chase email is a sure sign of a phishing scam. However, beware of a recent ebay/PayPal phishing email that directs you to type in your own URL, but also provides a link. I assume they believe some people will be reassured by the text and just click on the link for convenience after having been lulled into a false sense of security. GK |
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:10:22 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:19:47 AM | |
|
Matatora Ideal Rock Total Posts: 8,230 Last Post: 7/26/2006 Member Since: 3/6/2005 |
I am in the school comp lab and I am not a Chase customer so I clicked on the link. I got the 404 not found bit. Just a little FYI in case you were curious.
-Matatora Courage is the price that life extracts for granting peace Most of the change we think we see in life is due to truths being in and out of favor. |
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:19:47 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:20:25 AM | |
|
Dee Jay Cut Rock Total Posts: 240 Last Post: 3/7/2006 Member Since: 12/19/2005 |
GK - Forgive me for exhibiting total technical ingorance here, but does typing the URL into a new window take you to a different "place" than clicking on a link? And what if you copy the link into a new URL - where does that take you?
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:20:25 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:23:28 AM | |
|
FireGoddess Ideal Rock Total Posts: 12,145 Last Post: 3/23/2009 Member Since: 1/25/2005 |
Good to know, thanks for posting this!
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:23:28 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:23:37 AM | |
|
Matatora Ideal Rock Total Posts: 8,230 Last Post: 7/26/2006 Member Since: 3/6/2005 |
abuse@chase.com <abuse@chase.com> to send the email to chase.
-Matatora Courage is the price that life extracts for granting peace Most of the change we think we see in life is due to truths being in and out of favor. |
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:23:37 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:26:44 AM | |
|
Dee Jay Cut Rock Total Posts: 240 Last Post: 3/7/2006 Member Since: 12/19/2005 |
Matatora - thanks for this e-mail address for Chase. I looked all over their site and couldn't figure out where to send it!
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:26:44 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:30:33 AM | |
|
belle Ideal Rock Total Posts: 10,287 Last Post: 4/3/2008 Member Since: 11/19/2004 |
Date: 2/9/2006 11:20:25 AM if you know the url of the place that you want to go i.e. 'pricescope' you can type in the url www.pricescope.com to be sure that is where you are going. if you click on the link they provide i.e. www.pricescope.com (click the link!) you could be taken anywhere they want you to go. this is usually a site set up to look just like the original. copy and pasting would take you to the spoof site as well. the safest thing to do is type in the link rather than clicking on it if you are unsure.
Author: Dee Jay GK - Forgive me for exhibiting total technical ingorance here, but does typing the URL into a new window take you to a different 'place' than clicking on a link? And what if you copy the link into a new URL - where does that take you?
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:30:33 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:39:45 AM | |
|
Dee Jay Cut Rock Total Posts: 240 Last Post: 3/7/2006 Member Since: 12/19/2005 |
Belle - that makes sense (and I feel stupid for not being able to reason that out on my own! Did I mention that technology is not my forte?!?)
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:39:45 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:44:53 AM | |
|
belle Ideal Rock Total Posts: 10,287 Last Post: 4/3/2008 Member Since: 11/19/2004 |
you are very smart... you did not click the link in the email! that is what is most important.
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:44:53 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 11:54:19 AM | |
|
Mara Ideal Rock Total Posts: 27,936 Last Post: 11/25/2009 Member Since: 10/30/2002 |
you don't need to click on anything to figure out if it's a scam. you can typically just roll your mouse over the links in the email and they will look suspect like be a ip # like 204.83.30.301 or something or say something even more sketchy or have an overseas ending to the ip like .jp or .kr or something like that. bottom line is 99% of those things are junk email and scams. i get alot of them every day, right now i am getting the paypal one (your paypal account has been accessed!) almost daily. just send them to spoof@XYZ.com (chase.com, paypal.com, ebay.com etc) or spam@XYZ.com (same), most large companies have email addresses set up for one or both of those to catch these emails from you. they will investigate it and typically shut down the individuals but there is always another one where that came from. recently i had one that looked real, maybe from chase or something. but i went into chase directly, and accessed my account and it looked fine. if you ever get one of those, DONT CLICK, just go directly to chase.com or paypal.com or whatever the phishing email was and login the way you normally do. if your account is really red-flagged, it will say so. there are so many of these types of emails at any given day of the week, it's insane! just never click. ________________________________ |
| Posted: 2/9/2006 11:54:19 AM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 2:08:19 PM | |
icefisher Rough Rock Total Posts: 47 Last Post: 2/23/2006 Member Since: 1/3/2006 |
Last week I got several just like the Chash phish, from Comerica bank, which is a local (i.e. midwest) bank. I recognized it immediately because I closed my account with them back when I was 12 and had a paper route, and they wanted to charge me extra for depositing so many singles.... ![]() ![]() Mike
|
| Posted: 2/9/2006 2:08:19 PM | |
| P: 2/9/2006 3:09:14 PM | |
|
GemKlctr Cut Rock Total Posts: 451 Last Post: 7/26/2006 Member Since: 8/7/2005 |
Date: 2/9/2006 11:30:33 AM Author: belle Date: 2/9/2006 11:20:25 AM if you know the url of the place that you want to go i.e. 'pricescope' you can type in the url www.pricescope.com to be sure that is where you are going. if you click on the link they provide i.e. www.pricescope.com (click the link!) you could be taken anywhere they want you to go. this is usually a site set up to look just like the original. copy and pasting would take you to the spoof site as well. the safest thing to do is type in the link rather than clicking on it if you are unsure.Author: Dee Jay GK - Forgive me for exhibiting total technical ingorance here, but does typing the URL into a new window take you to a different 'place' than clicking on a link? And what if you copy the link into a new URL - where does that take you? Thanks for responding Belle. i just got back online (got to work sometime). Just to add without being technical, the problem is that the "www.pricescope.com" you see in the email is not representative of the actual Pricescope URL - which is just a set of numbers - but if you type it in yourself your own Internet service will recognize those letters as corresponding to the real site. The phisher hides the real address of its site under a false name in the link, or makes such subtle changes in the name that they are very hard to spot. GK |
| Posted: 2/9/2006 3:09:14 PM | |
|
|
Next Page |
Contact Us | Back Home | Privacy Statement | Forum Agreement | Forum Policies | |
| Ideal BB Version: 0.1.5.4.beta1 | Message forum software powered by the Ideal BB |
Pricescope -
Knowledge -
Diamond Prices -
Tools -
Resources -
About
© 2000-2009 Pricescope. Terms of Use Privacy Policy Disclaimer
forum archives