shape
carat
color
clarity

Photos so huge they won't upload

HollyS

Ideal_Rock
Finally, I have some photos of my rings. Lovely photos that I'd like to share. However, I don't know if I'm a lousy photographer and don't know my camera well enough to take the right photos to start with, or if I'm just exceedingly lame at making my photos smaller. Currently, even though they appear normal sized in my files, they are HUGE when I open them. As in "WHOA, those are massive!" :o

Am I an idiot who needs to carefully read the tutorial about photo posting, or is this a much simpler fix that can be explained to me "Photo Sizing For Dummies" style?

Help! Maybe I can get these long awaited photos posted. Outside of stock photos, no one here has actually seen my rings.

Circe

Ideal_Rock
Trade
In my program, when I scroll over the photo, it gives me an "Edit" option: I click edit, go to the taskbar to "Tools," go to "Resize," and then make the photo 10% of what it is by default - like, 300 x 300 as opposed to 3000 x 3000. Good luck, I can't wait to see!

HollyS

Ideal_Rock
Circe|1308174830|2946930 said:
In my program, when I scroll over the photo, it gives me an "Edit" option: I click edit, go to the taskbar to "Tools," go to "Resize," and then make the photo 10% of what it is by default - like, 300 x 300 as opposed to 3000 x 3000. Good luck, I can't wait to see!

I've tried the usual things that one would normally do. If I use your suggestion, it makes a smaller photo by giving me only the upper left corner of the photo. So I get background and no ring. It isn't actually resizing the image so much as it is cropping it.

HollyS

Ideal_Rock
We (DH and I) emailed these photos from his computer to mine. Should we resize, attempt to resize, the original images on his computer? Probably, huh?

Circe

Ideal_Rock
Trade