shape
carat
color
clarity

what to wear?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

monarch64

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ok, I need a little advice here. My DH just informed me last night that we are going downtown next weekend (Chicago, we live in the suburbs) and he will be wearing a suit and tie to dinner Saturday night. The restaurant is Tavern on Rush, which I am not familiar with but I did look at their website and it seems jackets are appropriate for men and cocktail/semi-formal attire is appropriate for ladies. Why on earth do men wait til the last minute to inform us of these things? I have a gorgeous little black dress I purchased last spring, but it just doesn''t have that "hot" factor I feel I want to wear for him! So I have a few questions for all you fashionistas out there, even though I have a BS degree in fashion merchandising! LOL!

question 1. do I stick with the little black dress even though I don''t feel outrageously hot in it?

question 2. do I purchase something online (I''m in love with a couple of dresses from anthropologie.com--they do have an overnight shipping option) BTW, does anyone know how their sizes run?

question 3. does anyone have any suggestions as far as cute/sexy things you have seen online that might work for an evening in downtown Chicago in December? Lord it''s hard to dress up in 30 degree weather, even with a nice long coat!

S.O.S.! Please advise!
face21.gif

Mara

Super_Ideal_Rock
i''m too practical about stuff like this to go out and buy a whole new dress just for one event...esp if you have something that works already. when you say it doesn''t have the hot factor, what do you mean? little black dress is usually pretty darn cute? hot? can you spice it up with jewelry or an updo or really high black heels? something fun? fishnets? sometimes with a conservative dress those can really do the trick.
31.gif