shape
carat
color
clarity

With all the knowledge now, how would I start? Please help!

rstyle

Rough_Rock
Hi people,

I'm a newbie here but for the past month I have been educating myself with all the diamond readings I could find out. I think now I would get the real search started, but how? There is just so much information.

I understand that BN is fairly good, but GOG, WF, BGD could be even better. I understand that among the 4c's, I will probably put cut as high priority, color as second, then pick an ok clarity that is eye clean, and last max out the carat based on my budget.

However, when I put in all my criteria into search, and then sort results by carats, there are still so many results that all seems pretty good to me (as they all met my criteria of course). Not to mention there are 3-4 online vendors out there. How do you guys spot the good ones among them? Do you just go into each one and look at the graghs, %'s? That would be tons of work!

Also, any Canadian out there? I'm hesitate as to whether to order the whole package online or just get the loose diamond and have it set locally. I am in Toronto btw.

Thanks in advance for your help. I might have more questions along the way, and I will also update my progress if I made any.

D_

Shiny_Rock
Re: With all the knowledge now, how would I start? Please he

Welcome!

Blue Nile can be quite a mixed bag. They pride themselves on their large inventory but I found it crippling when it comes time for us to narrow down our option. Plus most of the time you'll be buying blind since they they don't provide actual pictures of the diamond.

If you prioritize cut, WF and BGD are among the best, if not the best themselves. Service is top-notch too. I haven't had personal experience with GOG but have heard good stuff about them too.

One way to start is to state your budget, then you'll notice helpful fellow PSers will start chiming in with suggestion.
It will help us know what we are looking for.