shape
carat
color
clarity

What's your opinion on this Vintage Set?

Berts

Rough_Rock
Some of you may have seen I've been looking at Halo rings but these Vintage rings also have caught my eye. What sucks is you don't have a GIA on the diamond. Who knows what the cut is and honestly, I couldn't tell you a good diamond from a bad one looking at them in person. I have zero experience.

There should be a picture that shows up,

This is the description, They got the estimates from a local jeweler who has been doing this for 38 years and will meet me there to talk about it. It's a friend of a friend.

Engagement ring is platinum, Est .51ct, VVS2, F. Wedding band is 18K gold. It was part of an estate which they bought in 1944 and family owned since originally purchased. For what it's work the "Appraisal" is $3,000.

They are asking $2,150 firm. I'm thinking I can get them down to $2,000 but hoping for more.

It got a quote and for $100 I can get both resized.

Seems like a good deal to me, I love the look, comes with a wedding band so that saves some $ down the road. More for the honey moon eh!

Ohh, She is a size 7.5, would this ring seem way small on her finger?

00l0l_7tp5bc1ked_600x450.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Does she mind an estate piece for her e-ring and wedding set? Some women don't mind but some are very particular about it being new or never worn before.

Berts

Rough_Rock
She prefers a used one. She is an extremely frugal woman and if it was up to her my budget would be $200. She found a silver engagement ring with a CZ for $85 and wanted me to buy that. I can't do that.

My issue is I have the $2,500 cash. So that's my budget I would like to stick to. I am willing to go up to $4,000 for the right ring.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Whether it is too small will depend on her comfort zone. For most women, it probably is but there are some who might find that it's just right.

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
liaerfbv|1420750346|3813669 said: