5.81x5.84x3.42. Cut VG
Dep 58.7 tab 61 cr a 34 pav a 40.8
Pol vg. Sym vg. Cul none. Grd m-stk fir n
It is very sparkly to me hca 1.9
Should I still move on for ex cut?
THx so much

Just_Starting

Shiny_Rock
Girdle width is within excellent parameters, the HCA score fits within the plotted GIA excellent zone. Since the polish and symmetry are both very good as well this means it could have been an excellent cut. I'm a bit confused lol this is normally pretty obvious. I wonder if the HCA is a little off and checking the dimensions against the GIA charts might explain it. I'm sure someone more experienced than I will be able to help!

Minimesuv

Rough_Rock
Thx for input, I am a newbie as well. I really think the stone presents itself ex ;-). It is a strong choice for me but wanted ps'ers thoughts.

Just_Starting

Shiny_Rock
No problem sorry I can't be of more help. I looked at these GIA charts and it fits within the parameters (just) of an excellent cut here too:
http://www.diamondcut.gia.edu/pdfs/booklet_cut_estimation_tables_lowres.pdf

Some good information here:
http://www.diamondcut.gia.edu/pdfs/estimating-a-cut-grade-hires.pdf

Alas, I didn't find anything that explains it. The diamond does seem to be borderline for many of the requirements so perhaps it was just too borderline and didn't quite make the mark, I'd be surprised if this was the case I imagine there is probably a more definitive explanation.

This part of the second link might explain it:

The actual overall cut grade received from the GIA Laboratory for a diamond
may differ from that predicted by the GIA Facetware®
for the following reasons:
• The diamond’s actual measured proportions (e.g., the crown angle) or grading
parameters (e.g., the symmetry) as determined by GIA are different than those used
as input by Facetware®
• The accuracy and tolerances of different measurement methodologies (including
optical) that are used in the trade may differ from those used by GIA to measure
proportions.