shape
carat
color
clarity

Trying to learn...whats the difference in these two?

SimplyRed

Rough_Rock
Looking at an on-line diamond site for loose stones. Many are listed, but here is one example that I want to use to learn about this process. I'm very new to diamond buying. However, with 45 years of marriage coming soon, dear hubby wants to be me some a special ring. We've looked at rings at Helzberg and at a small private jeweler. I love the Simon G mosaic at $16,500....but would rather keep our retirement fund intact after this anniversary. So here's my question:

Two loose stones listed as follows:

Both are Princess Cut, 1.2 carat each, Premium Cut, E color, Clarity Vs1 and VVs1, Polish Excellent, Symetry Excellent, Depth 74.8 and 70.0, Table 72. and 70., Flourescent N/A.......Price: one is $5780 (EGL) and the other is $11,120 (GIA)

So what is the big difference? Is the minor difference in Clarity the big factor? Is it the depth and table? Those are really the only differences listed. Everything else is supossedly the same.

Thank for the lesson.
'Red

Rockdiamond

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Among other big red flags- the EGL stone is guaranteed to be misgraded- and by a huge margin.
The biggest rad flag of all is if the seller is not telling you that EGL reports are widely known to be completely unreliable when it comes to grading

Gypsy

Super_Ideal_Rock
Yes.

Dancing Fire

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
SimplyRed|1414770124|3775447 said:
Two loose stones listed as follows:

Both are Princess Cut, 1.2 carat each, Premium Cut, E color, Clarity Vs1 and VVs1, Polish Excellent, Symetry Excellent, Depth 74.8 and 70.0, Table 72. and 70., Flourescent N/A.......Price: one is $5780 (EGL) and the other is $11,120 (GIA)

So what is the big difference? Is the minor difference in Clarity the big factor? Is it the depth and table? Those are really the only differences listed. Everything else is supossedly the same.

Thank for the lesson.
'Red
The lab report...EGL vs GIA.. ;))

Gypsy