shape
carat
color
clarity

suggestions on where to buy very small diamonds

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

joekorth

Rough_Rock
Hi there -
I''m new to this forum, and am looking forward to exploring and learning here. I am a student jeweler, and am working on a project of two matching 18K gold rings, each flush set with 25 diamonds. I am at the stage of getting ready to purchase the diamonds, and am interested in any suggestions on where the best place to purchase from may be. The diamonds I am looking for would be 1 or 2 points (1.3-1.7mm), color D-H, and clarity Vs1 or better. I got some quotes from a place named K Jewelers which seem very good. Here are their quotes:

(1.3mm .01ct IF D-F color $10.00/ea)
(1.5mm .015ct VVS/VS F-G color $13.50/ea)
(1.5mm .015ct IF D-F color $16.00/ea)
(1.7mm .02ct VVS/VS F-G color $18.00/ea)
(1.7mm .02ct IF D-F color $21.00/ea)

Obviously, if money were not an object, i would go with the .02ct IF stones. Money, however, is an object. For my budget those are a bit high. the others are all good options. Is it worth spending an extra $125 to go from VVS/VS quality stones to IF stones fo size 1.5mm? Am i going to find any better prices than this? Any feedback would be appreciated.

Sincerely,
Joe Korth

strmrdr

Super_Ideal_Rock
Prices dont look to bad.
Id check with wink and diamondexpert to see if they can help you at a better price.
No its not worth the added cost and Id drop down to si clarity to save a few bucks if money is an issue.
In stones that small your not going to see the inclusions.

Regular Guy

Ideal_Rock
Joe,

Jim at Dirt Cheap Diamonds:

http://www.dirtcheapdiamonds.com/

I think invites querries about diamonds, and for at least somewhat smaller sizes; not sure if that's his specific area, but you may want to try.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium