shape
carat
color
clarity

Questions on I color and bluenile.com

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

jmamrosh

Rough_Rock
I am a newbie here and to the diamond purchasing scene so any opinions would be helpful. I have been doing my homework on the various C's and cuts and dimensions and just need to get others advice/opinions. I have 2 questions.

1. What have you all heard about buting from www.bluenile.com? I liked the site for selection and the fact that the stones have a GIA report.
2. I am thinking of going with a I color stone. My budget is very limited. Are I colored stones noticable yellow or dull? Would the stone look better in a white gold or gold setting? I wanted to go white gold but heard that maybe it would bring out the I color.

Here is the scope on the diamond:
.58 carat, G cut, I color, SI1 Clarity, Depth 78.3%, Rable 68%, Symmetry VG, Polish Exc., Girdle Med-sl. thick, no cutlet or Fluor., L/W 1.11 @$980

Ooo - Princess cut

ANy thoughts/advice/opinions greatly appreciated and THANKS in advance!

pearcrazy

Brilliant_Rock
I don't have a lot knowledge about princess cuts but the one you listed seems to be cut a little too deep. That will make the diamond look smaller than it is. I also find BlueNile's prices to be a little higher than the other PS vendors. An I colored diamond as a general rule is white enough for white gold or platinum. How about taking a look at this ideal cut G color stone at DCD. It's only about $75 dollars more for a better color, same clarity and is the right depth. It's only .06 smaller but with the ideal cut would probably look as large or larger because it's not as deep. There would be absolutely no question that this diamond will face up white enough for white gold or platinum.

www.dirtcheapdiamonds.com/diamond_detail.cfm?did=3033083

jmamrosh

Rough_Rock