shape
carat
color
clarity

lab/cultured whites - do they exist?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

wolfgang42

Rough_Rock
Newbie here. I''ve searched and read the archives about the various issues regarding Gemesis, Apollo, and lab-created or "cultured" diamonds.

From what I''ve been able to tell, Gemesis is presently producing yellow and orange stones, and doesn''t expect to produce white stones in the near future. I''ve seen reference to the fact that Apollo is presently producing white stones, though it''s unclear how many, or how large.

I haven''t been able to get any solid information from the companies themselves. Basically, I expect to be in the market for a white engagement-ring stone within the next few months. I''d like to look into cultured diamonds as an option, but I don''t know if it''s reasonable to expect to be able to purchase one before the end of the year, or before the end winter.

Do any of the resident experts have an update on status?

-Wolfgang

Jennifer5973

Ideal_Rock
From what I have read, these labs can only create "fancy yellow" hued stones in sizes < 2 cts (usually, around 1 ct average).

The ability to create "white" or near colorless stones has not been perfected as of yet.
1.gif

fancycoloredfan

Rough_Rock
I heard the Apollo is making them but they can only do like 1/4 or 1/3 ct- and they're not out on the market.

Also, if you ever look at the retail prices for these diamonds, they are somewhat similar to the price of a (colorless) mined diamond. I've heard that they are not focusing on producing white cultured diamonds becuase they would be almost the same price as a colorless mined diamond.

The real price difference is between fancy colored diamonds that are natural vs. cultured...

They are really pretty though- you should check them out

-Ariana

wolfgang42

Rough_Rock