shape
carat
color
clarity

It was suggested I post on this forum. Any Help would be appreciated

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

mrklaig1

Rough_Rock
I am looking at two diamonds on the internet. Can anyone give me their opinion if one is a better value then the other or if both are not of good value.

Both are round diamonds and cost about $80,000. I have been married 34 years and want to buy one perfect diamond for my wife. I realize this is a big purchase and I am a novice but here goes.

Round AGS certificate.
Cut Select Ideal
caret 2.52
color D
Clarity IF
Measurement 8.82-8.78-5.41
Depth 61.4%
Table 59%
Girdle THN-MED
Cutlet None (pointed)
Polish Excellent
Symmetry Excellent
Flourescence None (inert)

Second Diamond

Round GIA GCAL certificate.
Cut Ideal
caret 2.03
color D
Clarity FL
Measurement 8.23-8.27-4.97
Depth 60.2%
Table 57%
Girdle THN-MED faceted
Cutlet very small
Polish Excellent
Symmetry Excellent
Flourescence None

Any help/feedback would be appreciated.

Regards,
Gary

Dee*Jay

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Here''s my reply from the other thread:

Welcome!

Do you have the crown and pavillion angles on these stones?

Also, is there a reason that you are going for D IF? For the same amount of $ you can get, say, an F VS2 of a larger size. (You could also potentially go lower in both color and clarity and still have a very beautiful diamond). Or, you could get a diamond of the same size, again using the F VS2 example, for less $. Just throwing some ideas out there...

If you tell us what''s important to you in terms of color and clarity and I bet you''ll get a lot of suggestions on great stones, however I do understand that some people want D IF stones, so no disrespect meant if that''s the route you have consciously chosen to go.

BTW, if you post this in Rocky Talky you get much more feedback than in this forum. Perhaps the moderator can move it for you if you send her an e-mail.