shape
carat
color
clarity

How bad is it out there?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

mepearl53

Shiny_Rock
Trade
Would you mind sharing with me some of your experiences with B & M stores and internet vendors? Both good and bad. Since I don''t shop them I really have no idea as to what the experience is and would be curious of what you have to say.

jellybean

Brilliant_Rock
There is only one B&M store near me and one near my work that I will go to because I have had some bad experiences. Most of my bad experiences are with rude salespeople acting condescending or like they are doing you a favor.

Before I bought my .55ct (which I had recently traded up twice) I asked one store if they had any ideal cut rounds in that size and they didn''t nor were they willing to bring any in for me. I know that it is time and money for them to keep a large inventory of stones to look at, however, I like most people I''m sure, want to look at more than one stone to make a decision on what to buy.

Many of the salespeople I have dealt with have also given blatenly wrong information (i.e. an I color is higher than a G color). Now I am no expert, but it seems like even when I have gone in with a small bit of knowledge, I''m made to feel like I don''t know what the heck I''m talking about.

I also had one store give me a hard time about buying my diamond over the internet. It was like the jeweler had a huge chip on his shoulder when he asked where I got the diamond from and I told him (I had him reset it into a higher setting). I''m sure it''s because it takes business away from them, but don''t take it out on me.