shape
carat
color
clarity

Help!! (with Angles - 2.6 RB)

Tinky

Rough_Rock
Hello. Can someone please give me the range (for which to stay within) of excellent/ideal crown and pavilion angles required for optimum Diamond performance? I understand even if a stone is graded GIA XXX that the angles still might not be optimal. I am looking at this B&M stone and someone on this site questioned its 36° crown angle. How will the steeper angle affect the stone's performance? Anyone? Note - I have seen the stone in person and (I am no expert ) it was very sparkly and showed rainbow colors. I took it outside of the store into the sunlight, I took it to different parts of the store under different lighting and it was really sparkly and fiery. What if I purchase this stone and get it home under different lighting and it doesnt sparkle as well. I don't know what to do.

The stone scored ALL 1A's except for a 2B on the crown angle on David Atlas' cut grade tool giving it a total score of 1B. Then I entered the numbers on the HCA tool and it scored a 3.6 very good.

All advice is appreciated.

GIA XXX RB Specs:
Total depth.........62.0%
Table size...........57%
Crown angle........36.0 deg.
Crown height.......15.5%
Pavilion angle......40.8 deg.
Pavilion depth .....43.0%
Star length..........50%
Lower half...........80%
Girdle................Med. to slightly thick, faceted (3.5%)
Culet.................None
Polish................Excellent
Symmetry...........Excellent
Fluorescence.......None

MissElizabeth

Rough_Rock
According to tyty333, these are some general guidelines for RB proportions:

depth - 60-62%
table - 54-57%
crown - 34-35 degrees
pavilion - 40.6 - 41.0 degrees

generally, you want to look for an HCA below 2.0, so I would get an Idealscope image of this diamond to determine it's light performance.

Christina...

Ideal_Rock