shape
carat
color
clarity

Help picking a stone for an engagement ring

NotCreative

Rough_Rock
Hi all,

I'm very new to the diamond world and while I've done some research there's clearly more to learn than I can absorb in the time frame I'm looking at. I've viewed a few stones in person from retailers and a non-B&M type establishment. I was thoroughly unimpressed with all B&M stones I've seen. I've also and been advised about a couple others that I haven't seen in person.

I was wondering if anyone out there could provide some guidance on these stones for which I have the GIA numbers. I'm not sure if it's possible for you to tell from the reports, but if so, what would you expect I should pay (ballpark) for these?

I know she would like to stay between 1.5 and 2 ct. with cut and color as the most important qualities.

Also, as you can see some reports are from 2011. Should the report dates concern me? Are there any other red flags I should be concerned about?

Thanks!

(Saw in person and liked)
http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=1136583608

(Saw in person but the one above seemed a bit nicer and has a better cut)
http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=6137467728

(Have not seen in person)
http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=1169385543

(Have not seen in person)
http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pagename=GST%2FDispatcher&childpagename=GIA%2FPage%2FReportCheck&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=2165173927

teobdl

Brilliant_Rock
By the numbers, first and last are most promising. Middle two have little potential. It would be worthwhile to view the last one in person next to the first and choose which you like better.

NotCreative

Rough_Rock