shape
carat
color
clarity

Help on a trade-in

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

solo

Rough_Rock
I need some help. I have had the same marquise cut diamond for fifteen years. The diamond has VS2 clarity and H-I color. When it was purchased it was appraised at $4,000. I am thinking of trading it in and the jeweler is offering $2,800 on a trade in for a 1.5 carat SI2 with J color or $4,000 on a 2.75 carat with SI1 clarity and J coloring. This is my first time on Pricescope and in reviewing the prices it doesn''t seem like this is that great of a deal. Can anyone help with the information I have provided? THANKS!!
19.gif

upgrading mama

Brilliant_Rock
Hi Solo
35.gif

At the top of the page, there is a tool you can use to "price scope" your diamond. (it''s the search engine). I am not sure the size of your current marquise, but I was trying to get a good idea for the price today for one, so I searched .5-.75ct with the color and clarity you specified. The Prices rainged from $1100 to $2200.

What is the ct wt of your current ring?

Anyway, do you live in a major city?? You may want to shop around at the diamond district and see the best you can get. Here is a personal view point, and just my humble opinion. I don''t like it when they offer a different price based on what you trade in for. Just my 2 cents.

Anyway, we all love to look for diamonds here, so let us know what you are looking for!
31.gif

solo

Rough_Rock
I left out the most important information. Sorry, can you tell I am new at this? My current diamond is .71 carat. The 1.5 carat is $5,200 and the 2.75 carat is $11,000.

JulieN

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
2.75 GIA or AGS? Even EGL-USA... price is low.

upgrading mama

Brilliant_Rock
Me again. Up late tonight. I did a PS search again:
1.55 J SI 2 from USA certed diamonds: 3255

can you affird to keep the current stone and just buy a new one?? I would hate to see you get screwed..

RockDoc