shape
carat
color
clarity

H color in direct sunlight

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

HWin

Rough_Rock
I finally got the ring with a 1.6c H color stone (H&A 1.2 hca; no flor.). It looks a lot more white than I had thought in most lighting and angles. However, at certain angles in direct sunlight, it looks EXTREMELY yellow (from the top!). Is this a normal occurance with sunlight? I've tried looking at it in pretty much every conceivable lighting condition and this is the only time where any color is plainly noticable.

Just wondering.

MichelleCarmen

Super_Ideal_Rock
This sounds odd to me, but I'm not an expert! lol My stones are the opposite (I have D, G, and Hs). They all look clear and white in sunlight and under artifical lighting appear slightly yellowish.

Michelle

Trinity

Rough_Rock
I think it has something to do with the size and cut of the stone. I am no expert either, lol.

aljdewey

Ideal_Rock

----------------
On 3/2/2004 7:43:12 PM HWin wrote:

I finally got the ring with a 1.6c H color stone (H&A 1.2 hca; no flor.). It looks a lot more white than I had thought in most lighting and angles. However, at certain angles in direct sunlight, it looks EXTREMELY yellow (from the top!). Is this a normal occurance with sunlight? I've tried looking at it in pretty much every conceivable lighting condition and this is the only time where any color is plainly noticable.

Just wondering.
----------------

I think it's a reflection of the yellow sunlight that you're seeing. I have a 1.24 H color stone (H&A, 1.0 HCA, no fluor). It actually looks WHITER to me in sunlight, and looks more "clear" in indoor lighting.

HWin

Rough_Rock
I think it's a reflection of the yellow sunlight that you're seeing. I have a 1.24 H color stone (H&A, 1.0 HCA, no fluor). It actually looks WHITER to me in sunlight, and looks more 'clear' in indoor lighting.
----------------