shape
carat
color
clarity

Girlfriend Threw Me a Curveball

The girlfriend and I have recently decided we are ready for marriage. Prior to the recent search I have had no experience/knowledge when it comes to diamonds/engagement rings. I've recently started doing some research (shapes, settings, 4Cs, etc) and thought I had an idea of what my girlfriend wanted. I planned to completely surprise her, but after talking more about the engagement we decided to go shopping for rings. We went to a local mall with no intentions to buy from a mall jeweler( Kay, Reeds, etc) to just get an idea of the style of diamond/ring she likes. Up to this point I have done most of my research on round cut diamonds with a split shank halo setting. She mentioned she really liked that style ring from TV commercials. Well after visiting a few jewelers she fell in love with the ring below.

http://www.reeds.com/Three-Stone-Diamond-Halo-Engagement-Ring-7-8ctw-plu19291285.html

She says she would be happy with this ring, but I really wanted to get her something of higher quality. I've done some searching online and I am having trouble finding a similar setting. I have found a few, but I am not sure how reputable the merchants are. Searching bluenile or whiteflash I find a few settings I think she will be happy with, but definitely not the same design.

I need help finding a setting similar to the link above at Reeds. Essentially I am looking for a three stone emerald halo ring. I would prefer platinum, but open to white gold as well. An alternative setting would be split shank halo with an emerald center stone. My total budget is $5-8k. I am considering a center stone of 0.75-0.90 ct.

Thanks in advanced for the help!

arkieb1

Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi,