shape
carat
color
clarity

Funny old M/N stone, new WF setting

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

Alleyoop

Rough_Rock

Newbie here.I just finished resetting my e-ring stone from an 1910 era estate style setting into a beautiful new WF Legato Sleek Line and thought I would write up my little journey as it might be helpful to others.The reason I had the stone reset is because the setting is just too frail to wear and I wanted to both save the stone and the setting to be restored in the future.I have had the prongs replaced 3 times (two times after having the stone pop off in my hand!) and now the shank, which was worn down to a tiny 1.1mm finally broke.

The original e-ring my husband gave to me 7 years ago had been in his family for a long time and of course had no papers or certificates.The first thing he did was propose, and as soon as I said yes, we took it in to be checked out (the stone was loose in the setting) and appraised so that it could be insured.The jeweler told us that the setting was pre-1910 platinum and the stone was a 2.10 ct OEC.The reason it was so loose is that it had a HUGE chip on the girdle which was dangerously close to cleaving the stone in two.She said that the stone had to be recut, without question.Of course, we let her send the stone in for cutting.I was told that they only cut from the girdle-down and so we lost only the tiniest amount of width, mostly loosing the ct weight off of the depth.The stone is now 2.04ct.Had I known then what I know now (after reading PS obsessively) I might have made a different decision about cutting the stone… but what is done is done.Technically, the stone then appraised as a RB, (wouldn''t it be Transistional??) here are the stats:

Shape- RB

Measurements- 8.15x8.13x5.25mm

Weight- 2.04

Clarity- VS2

Color- M/N

Girdle- Medium

Depth- 64.5%

Table- 51.6%

Sym, Polish- excellent

Flor- none