shape
carat
color
clarity

First time buyer looking for advice on round 1.5c rock

racer22

Rough_Rock
I have been lurking this forum for a while, and am giving in to my temptation to post about my current dilemma. Thanks in advance for your feedback, I've seen may incredibly helpful responses.

I'm in the market to get setup with a round diamond, preferably around 1.5 carat, that I'm going to have set in a 6 prong solitaire (having custom made via family referral jeweler). My dilimma has been in choosing the right diamond to go with. I've seen a lot over the last few weeks and have determined that I am trying to ensure I get a Excellent cut and at least H color. My dilemma has come in when considering the clarity across many stones I have seen. I've been told by some to try to at least go with SI1 (only looking at GIA stones btw), and others that I would be fine with SI2.

One stone I am considering is an SI2 stone, which looks great to me, but I'm not an expert. The GIA report is: 1169868258. http://www.gia.edu/cs/Satellite?pag...&c=Page&cid=1355954554547&reportno=1169868258 I'm being quoted 10.3K for the stone, but I'm wondering if this is too much. I've been browsing many online diamond sources where I can exceed the specs of the stone I'm looking for and beat the price, but am not sure if there's a catch to those that are not obvious.

I am considering my next steps in determining if this stone is a good purchase. What do you think? I may look to bring it to a gemologist for pre-buy evaluation, but would like to avoid the $100 to have that done if possible.

tmot14

Shiny_Rock
I am new to all of this, so take my advice with a grain of salt. I doubt that stone would be eyeclean as an SI2, and would wonder if the "additional clouds not shown" would affect its performance. I'm sure others with more knowledge will weigh in though. Good luck with your search!

racer22

Rough_Rock