shape
carat
color
clarity

Elara, Flanders, Queen of Hearts--HELP!!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

sparklyandsquare

Rough_Rock
Hi! I'm a newbie and need some help. My b.f. and I are thinking of getting engaged. I'm doing some research because when he does decide to pop the question, I don't want him spending a ton of $ on a ring.

That being said: Both he & I know I'm pretty picky regarding the style of ring I'll like. I don't necessarily want something big (actually I don't really even like rings over 1 ct.) but I DO know somewhat what I want regarding style:

--e-ring: Square solitaire on medium thick platinum band with relatively low rise beaded prongs

--band: 5-6 diamonds (total weight 1 ct. or less) prong set in platinum

I originally thought I wanted a princess cut, but was never super impressed with the "sparkle." (btw, I've been trying on .75 ct. rings--my best guess is he'll probably go for something between .65-.95 ct) I also was looking at Lucida/Trellis settings, but haven't found a place to try one on (no, we're not in the Tiffany's pricerange).

BUT! On Sunday I opened the Washington Post mag and found an ad for Elara diamonds. I checked out the website and I LOVE them. (photo of ring & band at bottom of this post) I emailed Elara and asked for a location near me. They replied that The Tiny Jewel Box in DC was my closest dealer so I checked out their website.

Unfortunately it looks like the rings are out of our range. The ones listed on the site were:
Ring: $12160, Center stone = 1.28 carat F/VS2 GIA certified diamond set in platinum

Band: $4195, Diamonds = 1.22 carats total weight, platinum

Granted both of these rings are larger than what I'd go for, so I guess I'll contact the store and see how much it would run with the ring being .65-1 ct and the band being 1 ct total weight. But, I must admit my hopes aren't high.