shape
carat
color
clarity

Diamond newbie requesting advice on 2 gemscan stones

2000gt

Rough_Rock
I am a self professed newbie looking for some advice on two things, but first a little background. After deciding I wanted to purchase an engagement ring, I went to a close family friend whom I trust to get some ideas on diamonds as he has been a diamond jeweler for over 25 years. He helped me understand the 4c's and suggested I go out to a few jewelry stores and do some online research.
After deciding on a round stone around 1ct after viewing stones from Tiffany's, local jewelers and all the way to Costco to get ideas. I decided to call my family friend up to get some pricing on stones he would recommend.

My two questions are:

1. The stones in question have Gemscan certs - Is this a red flag? Despite my concerns, the jeweler stands behind Gemscan and has been using them for over 25 years.

2. Stone details:

Stone 1: Round Brilliant Cut
weight - 1.05ct
clarity - SI2
color - F
cut - Excellent
dimensions - 6.56 x 6.47 X 4.04mm
depth % 62.3
table % 59.4
crown % 15.0 crown angle 36.0
pavilion % 44.1 pavilion angle 41.4
cutlet % 0.0 0.00mm

Stone 2: Round Brilliant Cut
weight - 1.05ct
clarity - SI2
color - H
cut - Excellent
dimensions - 6.64 x 6.56 X 4.01mm
depth % 60.9
table % 54.9
crown % 14.5 crown angle 32.6
pavilion % 43.6 pavilion angle 41.1
cutlet % 0.1 0.01mm

Stone 2 scores much better on the https://www.pricescope.com/tools/hca tool.

There is approximately $400 Canadian dollars separating these diamonds. Which is the better of the two, and is it justified for the $$?

The diamond will be seated in a simple solitaire for the proposal, then with her input I will have the band redone to her specification.

Thank you for your input.

solgen

Brilliant_Rock
Neither are well cut diamonds so I'd be inclined to pass on both. And I would only rely on GIA or AGS certs. Diamonds certified by these two carry a higher premium for a reason.

2000gt

Rough_Rock