shape
carat
color
clarity

Confused & Nervous.. need help selecting diamond/setting!

Daekwan

Rough_Rock
Morning PS'ers..

This is my first post. I found out about this forum while shopping for engagement rings on Costco's website. Thinking I'd found the perfect ring on Costco, I googled the rings name which pointed me here to the Pricescope forums where I found a wealth of knowledge. I've since changed course and am no longer looking at complete ring selections, and would like to choose a seperate diamond & setting. I'd like to stick to with PS-recommended vendors, as this is my first time buying any type of jewelry off of the internet and I want to deal with a reputable dealer who stands behind their product and promises. Finally I'm pretty set on what I'd like to get and how much I'm prepared to spend to get it. So here goes:

Total Budget: $5000 or less
Diamond: 1 carat Cushion cut
Setting head: Halo w/pave diamonds
Setting shank: Thin & elegant
Metal: Prefer white gold, but would upgrade to platinum is advised so
Ring size: Still trying to figure out how to measure it without her knowing lol

After shopping around a few of PS recommended vendors for the past month or so, I have settled on this combination. The price is right and it seems like the perfect combination. I've shown the combination to her best friend.. who advised me of my girlfriends 3 wants (Cushion, Pave, Halo) and her comments on this combination were "fabulous!!". She believes this is exactly the combination my girlfriend would want. While I have little doubts about the setting I've chosen.. I do have doubts about the diamond. I understand the basic 4C's.. but there is just so much variety and pricing when it comes to diamonds.. that I really dont know whats a "good" diamond and or not. I swear buying a house.. was easier than buying a diamond!