shape
carat
color
clarity

Am I nuts?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

LauraSLP07

Shiny_Rock

Hi Everyone!!

35.gif

My name is Laura and I am new to the Pricescope forums.

My SO, Mike, and I had been looking at engagement rings for almost 6 weeks now. Just yesterday, we finally purchased a 1.50 carat, F color, VS2 clarity loose princess cut diamond and a modified tiffany setting to go with it! I loved everything separate, but when it got set together, I could just tell that something was not right!

8.gif

I got the V-prong head on my setting because it protects the corners of the diamond, but am unhappy with how they turned out. They don''t all seem symmetrical (ex: one looks pointy, another looks rounded) and the whole head of the diamond seems crooked. Also, I think they set the diamond too low because you can''t even see the point (cutlet) at the bottom. My SO and I did not even realize any of these problems until we got home and examined the ring in natural daylight.

My question is, am I crazy to want the ring to be "perfect" because I know with custom setting they can''t get everything exactly even. I really just want to take the ring back and ask them to set it again because it just looks "off!"

Here are the specs on the diamond: I fell in love with it from the moment I saw it!
10.gif

CW: 1.50
Color: F
Clarity: VS2
Total Depth: 71.4%
Table Size: 74%
Girdle: Medium to Thick
Cutlet: None
Polish: Very Good
Symmetry: Good
Fluor: None
Measurements: 6.58 x 6.39 x 4.56 mm

Any suggestions would be appreciated! Thanks so much!
1.gif

Maisie

Super_Ideal_Rock
Hi Laura - welcome to PS
35.gif

Why do you think that because its custom they can't make it symmetrical? I think that they should do their best to make it as perfect as possible. I have seen many custom designed rings on here and they look great.

Do you have a picture you can post?