shape
carat
color
clarity

AGS vs GIA color grades

reiddar

Rough_Rock
After reading an article on this site about the different labs, it seems to be that AGS might be softer on grading color.

Anyone have any insight into this?

It would be interesting to see a larger sample done...say a 100 stones.

WinkHPD

Ideal_Rock
Trade
reiddar|1300838446|2877724 said:
After reading an article on this site about the different labs, it seems to be that AGS might be softer on grading color.

Anyone have any insight into this?

It would be interesting to see a larger sample done...say a 100 stones.

My personal experience is that they are very comparable to GIA in color and a bit stricter in clarity.

I have heard others say differently, but that has NOT been my personal experience.

Wink

Claw M.D.

Rough_Rock
I am by no means an expert, but for what it is worth (probably not much) I recently took 2 AGS certified H-color stones to an appraiser who says he grades "according to GIA standards". Both times he said the color of my stone was lower than his H comp stone (which he showed me - and my stones were definitely lower than his comp). For the second time, though, he broke out a new GIA certified I-color comp stone, and my H stone was better than the I comp. So, it could be that his H comp stone was a very good H (or had been mislabeled as an H), or that both of my stones were low Hs or high Is.

WinkHPD

Ideal_Rock
Trade
Claw M.D.|1300909081|2878403 said: