shape
carat
color
clarity

Am I being too cheap on an E-ring-please help?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

scottyp

Rough_Rock
I am planning on spending about 6k on a .91 carat diamond and another 2k or so on a custom setting. The diamond is a G VS2 Round H&A with "excellent" cut/polish/symmetry from Good Old Gold. I''ll post the dimensions below.

I am an attorney, but I don''t make a lot of money. My girlfriend is a social worker who does therapy with lower-income children and families. We don''t have a lot of money, but our families do. I feel any money we can get from our families would be better spent on a down payment for a house (we live in Southern California.) My girlfriend always wears a custom necklace made with a diamond and pearl that were both here grandmother''s (who she adored) who recently passed away. The diamond is probably around a .4 carat. I don''t want to upstage the necklace which means to much to her. I feel that with my newly learned knowledge from Pricescope, that I can get her a .91 carat ring of excellent cut quality, rather than a larger diamond, which she would feel comfortable wearing all the time, and which she could wear at work without feeling overly pretentious or "showy" in front of her clients. I am worried to spend any more money on a larger diamond which I feel she may not be comfortable with.

Do you think I am being too cheap for southern california? Should I get her something bigger? I think that if I explain my decisions to her she will understand whey she doesn''t have a "huge" rock, and possibly she would not care at all. But I am worried. Please let me know what you think.

Here''s the stats for the diamond:
0.91ct G VS2 Round H&A
Shape: Round
Carat Weight: 0.91ct
Color: G
Clarity: VS2
AGS Cut Grade: Ideal
GIA Cut Grade: Excellent
Optical Symmetry: Ideal
Polish: Excellent
Symmetry: Excellent
Fluorescence: Negligible
Girdle: 1.57%
Culet: None