shape
carat
color
clarity

Which shape looks the biggest?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

peanuts

Rough_Rock
say you had a selection of 1/2 carat diamonds... which shape would make that 1/2 carat look the biggest?

atroop711

Ideal_Rock
I am no expert but I think the Round my look bigger....
12.gif

HOUMedGal

Brilliant_Rock
I believe round is correct...

Patty

Ideal_Rock
Round.

Or maybe oval.

diamondlil

Ideal_Rock
I don''t think round. I think some of the fancy shapes such as oval, pear, and marquise tend to look larger for the same carat weight as round. The princess, radiant, asscher, etc. look smaller than round.

E B

Ideal_Rock
I was thinking pear or oval too.

Tacori E-ring

Super_Ideal_Rock
I think MQs can look very big. Obviously all of it depends on the cut. I honestly think you should concentrate on the shape you like (she likes) best instead of which would look bigger. I personally have shapes I least perfer and I would never buy them over my favorites b/c they look bigger.

just my 2 cents of course.

ETA: to fix my spelling.

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
IMO, marquises look large because of the length (applies to whatever other long shape - pears can be long, say), but they are sometimes rather dull and may not be flattering at all on a larger hand.

At least a round has a good chance to stand out by brighteness, even if it is not huge. IMO, the shape would not make as much difference as brilliance.

Angel7

Brilliant_Rock
Little comparison for you. These are all .50-.52 range. (All same band)
I think it depends on the band a lot too. A smaller band may help the center stone "pop"?

DM36500800_RD_50_zoom.jpg
Round
DM36500800_PR_50_zoom.jpg
Princess

Emerald
Asscher
DM36500800_AS_50_zoom.jpg
DM36500800_MQ_50_zoom.jpg
Marquis
DM36500800_OV_50_zoom.jpg
Oval

Looks like Marquis may the winner in these pics!

Tacori E-ring

Super_Ideal_Rock