shape
carat
color
clarity

Too Cheap? Can''t figure it out!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

suemann

Rough_Rock
OK, so I am no diamond expert, but this ring just seems way too cheap. Can someone PLEASE let me know what the problem with this diamond is.

carat: 1.51
color: I
clarity: VS2
table: 69.8%
depth: 71%
width: 6.24
length: 6.28
crown: 13.4
girdle: M-TK

PRICE: $6800.

I know you are supposed to "see" the diamond, but I am buying online and don''t have that option. I think this is my last question before I purchase, so any help would be greatly appreciated.

BigVig

Rough_Rock
The table and depth measurements look way off, so this stone probably isn''t cut to very good proportions... does it have a lab cert? If so, what is the cut grade?

suemann

Rough_Rock
This is supposedly an ideal (or very close to) princess cut diamond certified by the GIA. I actually made a bit of an error above. The table and depth are from the Sarin report. The GIA certificate lists:

table: 70
depth: 70.9

suemann

Rough_Rock
This may also help:

polish: Excellent
symmetry: good

valeria101

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Princess cut.. sure...

Perhaps the previous answer was assuming that your stone is a weird round brilliant.

The AGA charts evaluate princess cuts based on the numbers you hvae (table, depth, crown height) - if not done already, these are found at gemappraisers.com and in the tutorial here somewhere andmake a good first step, IMO. It would be nice to see this one at least in pictures, but otherwise... nothing 'bad' stands out from the stats you have, as much as I can tell.

Thuis really isn't as much as 0.2 worth without seeing the thing.

Kaleigh

Super_Ideal_Rock
It does seem on the cheap side. Can you tell us who you are buying it from???

suemann

Rough_Rock