shape
carat
color
clarity

How Much Difference?!

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

FalleN

Rough_Rock
Between these two stones, how much true difference would you see? I understand the basics.....

Starting out, how different is a round ideal cut, from say....A Cut Above H&A stone?

Next, how different would a .75 ct. J SI1 rate against an F, VS1 at .60 ct?!

I know which stone is better on paper....At first glance, is the trade off in size worth the drop in color and clarity?

Experts?

Amateurs?

Thanks!

FalleN

Rough_Rock
Assume that either of these stones could be purchased for the same price as well..I''m searching for the best sight unseen value.....

jcrow

Ideal_Rock
if it were me, and i am new at all this-- i would get an ACA and drop down in color and clarity to get a larger size. that''s just my preference..

Thegroom

Rough_Rock
Clarity first. If the SI1 is eye-clean to your satisfaction (the definition of eye-clean varies from person to person depending on vision, obsessive behavior, etc.) than you will find little difference between the two stones.

Now for size. In my opinion, bigger is better (up to a point).