carat
color
clarity

Wasserman Schultz stepping down

Tekate

Ideal_Rock
Premium
ruby59|1469561408|4059549 said:
Tekate, I also joined the work force in the 70's and experienced the very same things you did. I would never have dreamed of speaking up because I was supporting myself. I was also just 18 at the time.

I had the opposite experience. I worked for an Insurance Agency. And yes I started as a secretary.

And as my skills grew they gave me more opportunities where I eventually became an underwriter.

Oh, I think the 70s allowed women to advance, but not too far, glad you became an underwriter, in order for me to advance and use my degree I had to jump companies a few times till I hit IBM and then I moved up the ranks quickly and IBM was a different world, where there were women managers, I loved it, till I left to have my kids, went back and then left and then worked for a non profit and then retired.. I feel very lucky that I was able to go from 1974 when I graduated from college and working in a horribly sexist environment, moving up to where I ended and was able to retire. As to the constant sexual harassment that ended when I became a manager.

Peace

Demon

Brilliant_Rock
AGBF|1469571483|4059626 said:
ruby59|1469559398|4059526 said:
Deb. I don't believe there were laws preventing women from wearing pants. I believe schools and jobs are able to make their own rules; just rules about attire. It used to be called convention. You had to show you were both respectful and a lady when you appeared In court.

I went to Katharine Gibbs in the 1970s. It was a very proper business school for women.

It specialized in training young women to be in the business world and to dress for the most staid employer.

And we were allowed to wear pant suits.

There were no pants suits in the era of which I am speaking, ruby.