shape
carat
color
clarity

Absolute Newb: Where to start?

BeekeeperBetty

Shiny_Rock
Premium
You should just talk to her. It's possible that she wants something really expensive, and is happy to chip in, too. Or, she might really want something simple and delicate, and cheaper than you want. Maybe her job is such that she wants a certain type of ring, like if she has to wear gloves or whatnot. Or she wants you to decide all on your own. You just don't know until you ask. My husband was going to just get me a round solitaire, because everyone he knew had one and he just assumed that's what you bought. We were talking one day and I mentioned that I hate round diamonds, and he immediately told me that we needed to pick something out together. And we did, and I got an amazing ring that I still love to this day, 18 years later. You sound like you want to get her a ring she will love, so just ask her. That's the best way to find out. It's not any less romantic, and is, instead very considerate of her feelings.

PS34one

Rough_Rock
Jmlleiva|1462476129|4027770 said:
What was the proposal if you don't mind me asking?

Well I guess I cant put that out there and not tell....That's just mean.
We went out to eat like normal by a lake where we live. Afterward we walked around like nothing unusual. There were some boats on the shore and he suggested we offer a guy some cash to take us on a boat ride. The boat guy looked like that might be his gig anyway but I still thought my (now) hubby was nuts and said no way. We were walking back to the car and he seemed disappointed to I said "Ok, fine."