shape
carat
color
clarity

New to coloured gemstone buying? Read this first!

SPSGuy

Rough_Rock
Excellent post, the detail of purchasing a stone boggles the mind.

cutratediamonds

Rough_Rock
Trade
Very good post..!! Helpful for the newbies.. :)

Trademan14

Rough_Rock
Wow!!! Very helpful, thank you so much for this informative post!!!

amazingAkj

Rough_Rock
Hey chrono, can you post pictures of whatever you have mention in your post so that it will be easy to recognize?

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
amazingAkj|1432296687|3879995 said:
Hey chrono, can you post pictures of whatever you have mention in your post so that it will be easy to recognize?
Can you please be more specific? I've posted a lot of things. :lol: I do try to post links to studies/papers wherever possible.

Abzurd

Rough_Rock
Hi, I'm new to the world of coloured stones. During recent travels been exposed to tourmaline and emerald and decided I will learn and maybe create opportunity out of what has presented itself to me... Learnt a fair bit already in a short space of time...

LD

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Abzurd|1432366364|3880357 said:
Hi, I'm new to the world of coloured stones. During recent travels been exposed to tourmaline and emerald and decided I will learn and maybe create opportunity out of what has presented itself to me... Learnt a fair bit already in a short space of time...

Abzurd - I'm glad to hear that you're enjoying the learning. Actually you'll find that won't stop because there's always new things to learn (especially about treatments) to keep us on our toes! We can't relax! :)

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Gem lab listing

USA
AGL is the top choice.
GIA is also good.

Europe
SSEF, Gubelin and GIA are the top choices.
Chris Dunaigre, GGTL and GRS are also good.

Asia
SSEF, Gubelin (mobile lab), Lotus Gemology and GIA are top choices.