shape
carat
color
clarity

Rhodolite garnet - what do you think?

badabling

Shiny_Rock
I'm a complete newbie when it comes to colored stones. I've been looking for a red colored stone for a while but since rubies and spinels are way too expensive I thought id dip my toes in the CS world with some cheaper stones.

What do you guys think of this garnet? http://www.ajsgem.com/rhodolite-garnet/rhodolite-garnet-6.99-carats.html
Is it worth the price? How do they compare to spinels and rubies in terms of color and brillance? I've never seen any of these stones in real life....not gem quality at least but plenty of bad lead filled rubies.

Any advice or suggestions would be helpful. I'm based in Asia hence AJS as the first choice as vendor. How does the US and Europe compare to Asia in terms of CS prices? Diamonds seem to be much cheaper in the US than bangkok...is it the same for CS?

Acinom

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Hi Badabling :wavey:
Hopefully the experts will chime in soon. I am too unexperienced myself to answer your question.
On my screen the stone looks rather dark though? It will not hurt to ask for a photo of the stone on the back of the vendor's hand and in daylight.

If you are truly and seriously interested in a stone, please make sure you 'reserve' any stone before posting it here as lurkers will snatch it up before you know it.
Happy stone search!

_32913.jpg

_32914.jpg

_32915.jpg

_32916.jpg

lovedogs

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
I second asking for a daylight or hand photo in order to get a better idea of color. I would worry a bit about the stone being too dark in most lighting situations. But it might just be the vendor pictures, so it's worth asking for other pics as well. Good luck!

minousbijoux

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium