shape
carat
color
clarity

What do you feel/think about "first time buyers"?

D_

Shiny_Rock
Title is supposed to be "What do you feel/think about certain breeds of "first time buyers"?" but I ran out of space.

Disclaimer: I know there is a first time for everyone and I know I'm pretty new at this as well and very far from knowing everything there is about diamond. I also know we should promote inclusiveness and after all, isn't that why we are all here? To learn more about diamonds and to share that knowledge with the next person?

I am not referring to people who have done their research and have specific questions on how those theories apply to their diamonds. I am referring to people who come here, not having bothered to read up the basics and ask "so what do you think of this stone?" Then the generous ones will point out the rather obvious flaws with the diamond(s) they choose and the person will conveniently say/ask "thank you so much, but this is too much too digest, more than I care for, really, but I want a well performing diamond, can you just pick one for me, tell me why it's nice so I can get this over and done with and move on with my life?" (Oh and bonus if they say "I really need this asap because I want to propose next week", another bonus if they want to find a "steal", thinking that they can game the system WITHOUT even putting in some effort). Another breed is people who claimed they have spent 3-6 months or even longer "researching" for diamonds and come up with questions that display lack of understanding of the basics. I don't really know what they refer to as "researching". Disclaimer: I'm painting with a broad brush here, my examples can be a mish-mash from different occurrences. The actual sample size that displays everything that I mentioned above may actually be very small.