shape
carat
color
clarity

Painite mens ring - am I being too ambitious here?

jordyonbass

Ideal_Rock
Trade
G'day my friends!! :wavey:

As some of you may be aware, I am an Aussie boy who has a developing gem obsession and I am currently looking for a blue sapphire to set in a ring for my gorgeous wife (we just celebrated our first wedding anniversary 4 days ago, yay for us!!). I've been looking at various cabochon and faceted Aussie Sapphires for her, but that's a different thread. Rarely do I think about gemstones for myself, I look at them with my wife in mind. If you've followed any of my posts then you may know that I am a Death Metal bass guitarist who loves his fishing - so while I love gemstones, gems and jewelry are not exactly something you will find me adorning myself with. But I have been having the occasional thought and conversation with my wife as to what I would buy and how I might set it. So after some careful consideration as to what I might like in a ring, I have decided that I would most like a Painite.

Most people are probably wondering why I picked Painite. It has a Mohs hardness of 8.5 which would make it good for a ring, but it's not an aesthetically beautiful stone from the samples I have seen, it doesn't seem to be easy to find, is notoriously small and seems to have clarity issues - so let me try explain my fascination with Painite like this: