shape
carat
color
clarity

Buying based on diamond specs (4Cs, HCA) alone Bad idea?

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

ghostm42

Rough_Rock
I'm new to this forum, but I've been browsing for the last few months. I'm looking to get a diamond for an engagement ring and this is the first time I've ever bought a diamond, much less one of this expense and magnitude.

My question is, are there qualities to a diamond that is not captured by the specifications? If so, how can two identically spec'd diamonds differ?

For example, if I use the diamond search on this website and specify relatively narrow preferences (ie. 1.5ct, color G, VVS2, HCA excellent, GIA certified), then purchase the cheapest diamond that comes up that meets that criteria, is there a difference between this diamond and one that has identical specifications for $3000 more?

I ask this because I have no experience. If I buy one online, it'll arrive by mail and I'm sure it'll look great to my novice eyes. My sister has a ring with a 1.5ct, color I, non-GIA certification that I can compare it to, but I honestly doubt I can spot the difference; I couldn't even see the blemishes in her diamond with a magnifying glass and the certificate next to me. I can get it appraised, but I'm not sure what that really tells me (don't they all come back appraised for more?). Is there value in buying in-store where I can compare diamonds (I live in NYC) if I know the specs I want? No stores have an HCA rank and few have the GIA cert right next to the diamond, so I actually have less information when buying from a store.

Thanks. Any help is appreciated.

pfunk

Brilliant_Rock
Premium
ghostm42|1427562268|3853769 said:
I'm new to this forum, but I've been browsing for the last few months. I'm looking to get a diamond for an engagement ring and this is the first time I've ever bought a diamond, much less one of this expense and magnitude.