shape
carat
color
clarity

Your opinion and advice on a pair of Sapphires

John2013

Rough_Rock
Dear community members,

I would really appreciate your help with my purchase of a pair of blue sapphires to creat earrings.

I am looking for a pair of rich in color blue sapphires in oval shape around 1.5-2 carats each stone.

So far what I was able to find is this pair: http://www.thenaturalsapphirecompany.com/p-53571-oval-blue-sapphire-pair-pr1540-b/

What is your opinion on the stones? Are they high quality and is the price reasonable for the quality? Is Natural Sapphire company a safe place to buy jewelry for 10k $?

Would you please recommend any other places in the US where I can look for sapphires? I am new to the US market and don't know what are the right places to look for.

Thank you very much in advance and let me know if I need to clarify anything in my request.

John

VapidLapid

Ideal_Rock
the price is high for heated stones without a lab report from an independent lab.

Did you look at gemfix ? they are in the permanent thread of Vendors for Reference at the start of this forum. If the NSC price is indicative of your budget?

You might contact a few of the special lapidaries and inquire if they have suitable material to cut a pair for you. Roger Dery, Jeff White, Gen Flanigan and Gary Braun off the top of my head.

John2013

Rough_Rock
VapidLapid,

Thank you for your detailed reply.

Yes, $10k is my budget for the stones and I don't want to compromise on quality. Thanks for the reference of the stones - they are beautiful, but they are also heated, aren't they? Ideally, I am looking for oval shape sapphires as I want to put diamond around and they usually look much better on ovals.

Any other places where you would recommend to check?

How do I contact the gentlemen that you mentioned?

Thanks a lot!

John2013

Rough_Rock
Regina3737,