shape
carat
color
clarity

WHAT SOME DIAMOND SELLERS DON'T WANT YOU TO KNOW.

Jamiegems

Rough_Rock
I am a Graduate Gemologist from GIA.

I would like to preface this post by saying there are many honest people in the diamond industry. They are forthcoming with the truth and willing to back up what they say with facts.

Now, that all having been said let me say this. There are many people in the trade that will do several things to confuse or disorient you from knowing what is really the truth about diamonds they sell. Here is one of the worst things that people are victimized by.
Some trades people will use inferior labs for many reasons. One of which is they are more generous about grading than GIA.
But know this, the most important diamonds in the world are all graded by GIA and anyone cutting, selling or buying any significant stone is going to have it graded by GIA. GIA (and this is important) CREATED THE DIAMOND GRADING SCALE and characteristics of diamond grading. Anyone who tells you anything else is lying. That is why you should always buy a GIA certified diamond. They created the process of grading diamonds. But I digress.

What many people do is buy stones that they know very well are not the quality that they are purported to be. Then they sell them as though they were what they should be, instead of what they actually are. Meaning they know perhaps that the cut on a diamond is not very good but it has decent color and clarity so they sell it as though the cut matched the other stats on the stone. They use other labs that will give them higher color grades or higher clarity ratings OR CUT GRADES and then use those false statistics to sell the diamond.