shape
carat
color
clarity

Please Help: Mysterious black pinpoint in diamond

Nicole0985

Rough_Rock
Hi there,

I am new to Pricescope but have been reading through the very helpful/interesting forum posts. I'm hoping someone can help explain to me what this mysterious black needlepoint is that I see in the face of my round diamond at times depending upon the light. I have attached some photos, along with the GIA report. The diamond is 2.5 carats, "very good" cut, E color SI2, however it has no carbon inclusions anywhere on the face, according to the report. Also, when viewed under a loupe, you cannot see any black inclusions on the face. What could this black spot be? A reflection of some sort?

Thanks in advance for your help and opinions.

Best regards,

Nicole

_27469.jpg

_27470.jpg

_27471.jpg

_27472.jpg

chrono

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Have you given it a good cleaning to see whether it goes away?

Nicole0985

Rough_Rock
Hi Chrono,

Yes, I have the ring cleaned almost every month in an ultrasonic cleaner (and then it is steamed). The pinpoint is still always there afterward.

Best,

Nicole

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Probably just a crystal or tiny carbon pinpoint that wasn't on the clarity plot. They don't always plot every single tiny inclusion.

JL321

Rough_Rock
diamondseeker2006|1425053885|3839163 said:
Probably just a crystal or tiny carbon pinpoint that wasn't on the clarity plot. They don't always plot every single tiny inclusion.

It's noticeable from the pictures and if pictures can pick it up they should have included it in the plot :think: It would be a bad mistake on the grader's part.

diamondseeker2006

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
JL321|1425054863|3839176 said:

It's noticeable from the pictures and if pictures can pick it up they should have included it in the plot :think: It would be a bad mistake on the grader's part.

Unless Todd Gray is wrong, I believe your assumption is incorrect: