shape
carat
color
clarity

Princess cut dark gray Spinel?

Ninjo90

Rough_Rock
Hi all! I'm a novice with gemstones, but I am looking for the appropriate stone for my engagement ring, (I know that I don't want a diamond). Just looking for your expertise here! I love dark gray Spinel, but I've had trouble finding any pictures of it in a princess cut, which is my favorite cut.

Is it uncommon for spinel to be cut in a square? Can anyone offer what other stones are colored and cut in a square with similar brilliance, and suitable for everyday wear?

Thanks so much!!

P.S: I'd love to see pics of your colored e-ring!!

:wavey:

T L

Super_Ideal_Rock
Premium
Ninjo90|1420751534|3813676 said:
Hi all! I'm a novice with gemstones, but I am looking for the appropriate stone for my engagement ring, (I know that I don't want a diamond). Just looking for your expertise here! I love dark gray Spinel, but I've had trouble finding any pictures of it in a princess cut, which is my favorite cut.

Is it uncommon for spinel to be cut in a square? Can anyone offer what other stones are colored and cut in a square with similar brilliance, and suitable for everyday wear?

Thanks so much!!

This dealer has a lot of grey spinels. Here's a dark grey one. I've bought from them before, so they're a reputable dealer. I would just go by the videos, rather than the photos, of the stones, for accuracy.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/SPINEL-Natural-2-25-CT-7-38-X-7-22-MM-Great-Size-Untreated-Loose-Gem-12072639-/181623946832?pt=Loose_Gemstones_1&hash=item2a49a17e50

Ninjo90

Rough_Rock
Cool! Will check them out! So I can buy stone and have a jeweler set it, very cool, didn't know I could do that!

woofmama

Ideal_Rock
I have a dark gray spinel purchased from Jeff Davies. http://www.jefferydavies.com/jeffs-shop/ You might what to contact him to see what he has available.
Here is my experience in buying my spinel, it was so much darker IRL than the photo showed. It has never ever looked like the photo.