shape
carat
color
clarity

The average e-ring diamond size

Status
Not open for further replies. Please create a new topic or request for this thread to be opened.

MissAva

Ideal_Rock
Its funny becuase I always pictured those with more buting from small local jewlers or stores like Tiffany and Cartier. I know this is the norm for my region...how else would they stay open? But I guess they have a big enough mark up perhaps they could anyway. I know that if I had more money that would still be my route. There is just something nice about buying from your small town local store.

barbx

Rough_Rock
Hey Dixxin, newbie here -- I''m writing because my husband proposed 8 years ago with a .5 ct, which was a lot of money for him then living in DC. I lived in NYC where all my friends rings were at least 1+ ct so it seemed very small to me (and I had a pair of earrings that were .5 ct each, so I thought my e-ring should be larger). I convinced him to trade up to .78 ct ... 8 years (and 2 children, I might add
2.gif
) later I''m going for a 2+ ct.

I feel an immense amount of guilt about the situation because I married the man, not the ring, but being practical, I realized I wanted something that I would be EXCITED to wear on my finger every day. I wear my diamond wedding band every day but I haven''t worn my .78 stone in months -- once I got my eye on my mom''s new 3+ ct ring my own seemed... tiny.

Hopefully your fiancee isn''t as shallow as I am...
41.gif

JessesGrl

Brilliant_Rock
I recently read that the average is 1ct and cost 2,000 dollars? That has to be wrong...mine is .87 and my ring w/diamond and setting was 6500....I think they do not account for quality and assume it is just a solitaire??? i dunno...

perry

Ideal_Rock
Premium