shape
carat
color
clarity

Terrible experience buying pearls from a department store

Ren

Rough_Rock
So this is my first topic, and most of you probably know better (I didn't), but I had a truly awful experience trying to buy a pair of pearl earrings from a major department store. I'm a college student, so my budget for Christmas presents is usually pretty low, but my mom asked for a pair of pearl earrings that matched the pearl bracelet I got her from PP for mother's day. I had planned to buy a pair from PP because I've never been disappointed by their pearls, but I saw a cheaper pair at Macy's while I was Christmas shopping, and wanting to save a few bucks, decided to pick it up.

I examined them very thoroughly before buying and they had nice lustre, were round, the right size, white, and a blemish-free surface. The lady said I could get 25% off if I picked them up a few days later - they were preselling for their friends & family sale. So of course I agreed, I paid and watched her put my pearls in a box and in the safe.

Well I came back a few days later to pick them up, and the lady that helped me was very rude and was rushing me to sign saying I received them and then ushered me out the door. I didn't get a good look at them until I got home that night. The pearls she gave me were almost YELLOW! And there was a huge dimple on one of them - right in the very front! These were absolutely not the pair I picked out and paid for. Needless to say, I returned them the next day and took advantage of the PP Cyber Monday sale and picked up a pair I know I & my mom will love.

Sorry for the extremely wordy rant, but I just wanted to let any newcomers know about these dishonest practices. If you can't walk out of the store with the piece you picked out, I just wouldn't bother. This experience left a really bad taste in my mouth and I will definitely not be purchasing fine jewelery from a department store anymore.

pearlsngems

Ideal_Rock
Premium